Leonel Fernández

Leonel Fernández is a renowned Dominican politician, lawyer, professor and writer who has played a prominent role in the promotion of political and ideological matters, both at the national and the international level.

He’s been elected three times as president of the Dominican Republic, carrying a progressive and democratic mandate, fostering a democratic institutional reform, sustained economic growth, application of social policies oriented to the reduction of poverty and a notable development of infrastructure in the country.

Fernández is the author of “Los Estados Unidos en el Caribe” (The United States in the Caribbean), “Raíces de un Poder Usurpado” (Roots of an Encringed Power), “El Nuevo Paradigma” (The New Paradigm), “El Delito de Opinión Pública” (The Public Opinion Crime) and “Años de Formación” (Years of Formation).

He is currently the President of the “Partido de la Liberación Dominicana” (the Dominican Liberation’s party); the Fundación Global Democracia y Desarrollo (FUNGLODE) and its sister organization in the United States; the Global Foundation for Democracy and Development (GFDD); the EU-LAC Foundation; and the United Nations Association of the Dominican Republic. 

In addition to his local responsibilities, he is also a member of various international institutions such as the Montevideo Circle, the Council of Freely Elected Heads of Government, the Inter-American Dialogue, and the Club of Madrid.

For his contributions to political science, he has been honored with the title of Doctor Honoris Causa by several renowned universities in Europe, Asia, the United States and Latin America such as Sorbonne University, Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU), Seton Hall University, State University of Santiago de Chile, Lehman College, Stevens Institute of Technology, Nova Southeastern University, University of Massachusetts, State University of Panama, Chinese Cultural University, and Hankuk University.